This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content


Party: Conservative Party of Canada

Political: Called to the Senate by the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney on June 8, 1993

Staff: Katarina Shave, Executive Assistant; Robin Hay, Senior Parliamentary Affairs Advisor

Senate Office: Room 401, Victoria Building, Senate of Canada, Ottawa, K1A 0A4

Education: 1965, B.A (History and Political Science), University of Saskatchewan; 1966, Diploma (Teaching Certificate), College of Education, Saskatoon.

Work History: 1993 - Member (Saskatchewan), Senate of Canada

               Senate Caucus Chair and Vice-chair National Caucus (2005-2011 )

 Current Senate Commitee Memberships:

Transport and Communications (Chair)

Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (Member)

Banking, Trade, and Commerce (Member)

Selection Committee (Member)

Past Committee Memberships:

National Finance (Chair, 1993-97)

Special Inquiry into the Pearson Airport Agreements (1995)

Banking, Trade and Commerce (Deputy-Chair, Chair and member (1997-present)

Aboriginal Peoples (2001-2003)

Energy the Environment and Natural Resources (2007)

Special Committee on Senate Reform (2006 - )

Agricultural and Forestry (1999-2007)

Transport and Communications (Deputy Chair 2003-2008)

National Security and Defence (Deputy-Chair 2007-2008, Member 2009)

Selection Committee (2003 - 2009)

Special Committee on Bill C-36 (Terrorism)


2003-2017: Board Member, Calian Technologies

1992-present: Chairman, John Diefenbaker Society inc.

1999-present: Honourary Patron, Bosco Homes Alberta